Introducing Louisa Robinson

Louisa Robinson
Louisa Robinson

A north-east true blood thespian, writer, reviewer and performer all rolled into one. Theatre gives me a real zest for life, that no other activity can quite ascertain as having the same aphrodisiac effect on me. I am Louisa, a languages graduate from the University of Edinburgh who has significant performance experience gained from acting with a French theatre group ‘Les Escogriffes’, to local amateur groups such as Durham Dramatic Society (DDS). After graduating, I participated in Theatre Royal’s TRY festival, and then completed a 10 week advanced actors diploma at Newcastle College. I am hoping to apply for a postgraduate MA course in Acting at a London drama school, and continue performing to a professional level.

Due to my languages background in French and Italian, I have a sustained interest in european theatre, and after having experienced an inspirational 2 week visit to Rome last winter, I am currently writing a book on ‘an illustrated guide to Rome theatres’ which will prove to be invaluable for the tourists city break escapade.

I regularly attend theatre performances, both amateur and semi-professional shows, and believe that Live Theatre promotes the rich theatrical culture that Newcastle possesses. I am a strong advocate of the outreach activities that Live offers local thespians, and I am currently writing a play proposal for the Introduction to Playwriting course that Live offers.

Aside from performing, I regularly attend theatre shows across the region to review for my blog  which I started in February 2012, and have seen it grow considerably in its readership, and I feel privileged that my work has been recognised by Live to be the guest blogger for the month of April.

By Louisa Robinson
Guest Blogger April 2013

Leave a Reply

