Stand Up Comedy Course

Live Theatre runs a six week Stand-Up Comedy Course for adults. The next course starts on Tuesday 15 April and runs every Tuesday for six weeks. The course is run by top comedians John Scott and Vladimir McTavish who teach students the art of creating an onstage character, using improvisation and stagecraft before shaping material into a routine that can be tried out in a special gig at the end of the course. There is still time to apply here or via phoning Live Theatre’s Box Office on (0191) 232 1232.

What past course participant Micky Cochrane had to say about his experience on the course:

‘Stand up was one of things I had always wondered about. I’ve been an actor and performer for many years and when a fellow actor told me about the course I thought what the hell – give it a go.

I’m really pleased I did. The course was such an interesting experience for me, full of people from all walks of life who wanted to try something new.  The biggest compliment I can pay is that you get the right advice and tools to prepare you to perform and even though I felt I hadn’t taken much on board my performance at the end showed that I had learned a lot.

I had no intention of becoming a stand up but now I have played several gigs and I have just been confirmed to play Jesterval comedy festival on 14 June’

What past participant Camille Burridge said about the course:

‘All my life I was presented with opportunities of doing stand up, but my fear and confidence stopped me even though I was a part of a thriving theatre and comedy company. I just felt I could not stand alone.

I always had the intention of attending a stand up course in London, but  financially it was not viable. I jumped at the chance when Live theatre set up the stand up course and I signed up double quick?……to have a place in the first ever stand up course in Newcastle .

The course was a  bit rough round the edges as any new course can be. But everyone involved had one goal and that was to mentor and guide us to the penultimate goal  “Your own stand up gig”.

With the help of 2 professional stand ups and secrets of how to formulate and recognise material along with dealing with audiences, venues , promoters, how to get gigs and even hecklers took me to where I myself did my first gig at the end of the course and followed on to travel in my first year completing 60 gigs, even performing my stand up at the Edinburgh fringe amongst others places.’ 

It was a rollercoaster of nerves and fear but I achieved my dream and I believe if anyone wants to try it even if it just to answer that Mysterious question “could I ? “…. Do it.

I’m glad to say I am planning to go back to The fringe with more gigs and in Manchester, and I am pleased to say that I have regular slots at the stand Newcastle.’

 

 

One thought on “Stand Up Comedy Course

Leave a Reply

