One man and his show…

So – My name is Ian and I’m 50, that’s where the story begins. I teach and perform Improv for a living. “What!” I hear you exclaim – “You earn money by making it up as you go along?” Well, now you put it like that, it does seem like a bit of a cheat. “Doesn’t it terrify you? You know, going out on stage with nothing.” ” Er! No! I love it! “So what does scare you?” Well, Sharks are pretty high on the list, but they come a distant second to what is happening to me now – A SCRIPT – A BIG SCRIPT! and the most terrifying thing is that it’s a one man show – just me, on stage talking. GULP!

So I’d thought it might be amusing for you to follow me on this brand new departure for a man who normally gets his ideas from the audience, and soak up some of the fear – Think of it as Theatrical Voodoo! – “You earn money by making it up as you go along?” Well, now you put it like that, it does seem like a bit of a cheat. “Doesn’t it terrify you? You know, going out on stage with nothing.” ” Er! No! I love it! “So what does scare you?” Well, Sharks are pretty high on the list, but they come a distant second to what is happening to me now – A SCRIPT – A BIG SCRIPT! and the most terrifying thing is that it’s a one man show – just me, on stage talking. GULP! So I’d thought it might be amusing for you to follow me on this brand new departure for a man who normally gets his ideas from the audience, and soak up some of the fear – Think of it as Theatrical Voodoo!

Day 1 – The read through

And so it begins – We met at 10:30am for a coffee and company get together. I was shocked to see ALL of Live Theatre’s staff in the bar downstairs. It’s usual for them to meet and greet visiting companies and although I pretty much knew everyone and ‘am the cast’ I was still struck by everyone’s enthusiasm and genuine warmth. Two coffees and a fag later, we made our way upstairs for the read through.

In the rehearsal room the creative team listened as I bumbled through the script – I was bloody nervous! There was something about being surrounded by this dedicated and talented bunch of professional theatre makers that petrified me – but I needn’t have worried, their stony faces and narrowing brows where not as I later found out an instinctive ‘stench’ reaction, but because they were trying to work out how they could best realise and honour the story.

After the reading, it was time to look at the final-ish set design. Amy Watts, a delightfully intense and clever woman had a difficult job. She had to take on board ideas coming from every angle, including me, Max Roberts the director, Dave Flynn and Drummond Orr the technical/production team. Her task was to mix imagination with practicality while still staying true to the text, and the result is wonderful.

After lunch Max, Gez Casey the literary manager, Heather Robertson DSM and I looked through the script again. Gez is amazing and really knows about story telling. We looked at areas that might be cut (it’s too long at the moment) and where certain themes and ideas might be expanded – a kind of theatrical quid pro quo. Heather made detailed notes (I now realise that the DSM’s job is to remember everything – no matter how small) and Max sent me home to think about it all.

Phew! – Day one.

If you want to keep up to date on a daily basis with Ian’s posts, make sure you follow his blog.

Good Timin’ previews at Live Theatre from Wednesday 16 to Saturday 19 July before heading off to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe on Thursday 14 to Saturday 23 August. The show then returns to Live Theatre in the autumn between Wednesday 15 and Saturday 25 October.

Find out more and buy tickets for the previews at Live Theatre in July here.
Find out more and buy tickets for Edinburgh Festival Fringe in August here.
Find out more and buy tickets for the run at Live Theatre in October here.

 

Leave a Reply

