Introducing Teresa Kirby

Teresa is Live Theatre’s guest blogger for March 2017.  If you would like to blog for Live Theatre and review events then you can find out more here.

Hi. I’m Teresa, and I’m throwing letters into the air in celebration. Yes – Live Theatre has invited me to review three of their shows this March as a guest blogger. I know – tough life, but somebody’s got to do it. First task – introduce yourself to our readers. Ahh…

Well, I’ve acted and danced, as a member of the public for, oh, so many years; including thirty artistic years in my adopted city of Newcastle.

I acted with Stage Focus at Live Theatre for two years, and then the Northern Stage Performance Group for a further fifteen. I’ve performed in two plays by A Quiet Word at Newcastle’s Literary and Philosophical Society; my photo’s on the wall there – by the tea bar.

When I’m not acting – I love to dance: Weekly music theatre classes at Dance City, and contemporary dance with the Eliot Smith Company. I’ve joined other community dancers to perform with: balletLORENT, the Jack Webb company, Bullies Ballerinas, and the Southpaw Dance Company in their 2015 and 2016 productions of Rush and Wordplay in South Shields. I once danced through the night at the MetroCentre, for their TV adverts. I was the dancing customer service assistant in three of the seven adverts, which ran for three consecutive years.

And I once won a national poetry competition – the prize was 10 second-hand books. So, I didn’t give up the day job.

Welcome to March 2017. This is Live Theatre…

Leave a Reply

